The National EMS Advisory Council (NEMSAC) was established in April 2007 as a nationally recognized council of EMS representatives and consumers to provide advice and recommendations regarding EMS to NHTSA in the Department of Transportation and to the members of the Federal Interagency Committee on EMS.

NEMSAC provides a forum for the development, consideration, and communication of information from a knowledgeable and independent perspective. NEMSAC does not exercise program management or regulatory development responsibilities, and makes no decisions directly affecting the programs on which it provides advice. View the NEMSAC Charter.


NHTSA's Office of Emergency Medical Services announces the following date for the next FICEMS meeting which will be held in the Washington, D.C. area. Additional information will be provided closer to the meeting date.
Learn More

NEMSAC Meetings

Public meetings of the NEMSAC are held three times per year. Learn more about upcoming dates, agendas and opportunities for public comment, or download meeting materials from NEMSAC meetings since 2008.
Learn More


The NEMSAC membership consists of 24 members of the EMS community who represent different aspects of the industry. The members are appointed by the Secretary of the Department of Transportation for two-year terms and each may serve up to two terms.

The NEMSAC membership conducts its work within five working committees. The committees provide updates and recommendations at each of the three public meetings held in the Washington D.C. area each year.

Patient Care, Quality Improvement, and General Safety

Data Integration and Technology

Innovative Practices of EMS Workforce

Provider and Community Education

Funding and Reimbursement

2018 – 2020 NEMSAC Members

Kathleen Adelgais, MD, MPH
Golden, Colorado
Pediatric Emergency Physician
Mary Ahlers, MEd, BSN
Cincinnati, Ohio
EMS Educators
Shawn Baird, MA
Portland, Oregon
Private EMS
Cherie Bartram
Richmond, Michigan
Call Taker/Dispatcher
Richard Bradley, MD
Houston, Texas
Emergency Physician
Steven Diaz, MD, FACEP, FAAFP
Augusta, Maine
Hospital Administration
Eric Emery
Rosebud, South Dakota
Tribal EMS
Mary Fallat, MD
Louisville, Kentucky
Trauma Surgeons
Val Gale
Gilbert, Arizona
Local EMS Service Administrator
Brett Garrett
McCalla, Alabama
EMS Practitioners
Sean Kaye
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
EMS Data Managers
Lori Knight, RN
Placentia, California
Emergency Management
Nanfi Lubogo
Cromwell, Connecticut
Chad McIntyre
Jacksonville, Florida
Air Medical
William “Mike” McMichael
Delaware City, Delaware
Volunteer EMS
Anne Montera, BSN
Eagle, Colorado
Public Health
Chuck O’Neal
Berea, Kentucky
State EMS Directors
Matthew Powers, RN, MS
Pleasant Hill, California
Emergency Nurses
Vincent Robbins, MS, FACHE
Hamilton Square, New Jersey
Hospital-based EMS
Peter Taillac, MD
Salt Lake City, Utah
EMS Medical Directors
John Tobin
Phoenix, Arizona
Fire-based Career EMS
Jonathan Washko
Northport, New York
EMS Quality Improvement
Lynn White, MS
Copley, Ohio
EMS Researchers